Francis Gassner Award

“Architecture is a reflection of the attitude of the community – a physical manifestation of what we think is the good life. It can be a vehicle to enhance man’s dignity. If it doesn’t do that, it is a failure.”


Congratulations to 2014 Francis Gassner Award recipient: Todd Walker, FAIA

Video: Todd Walker discusses his work on the Visible Music College and winning the Gassner Award – courtesy of The Commercial Appeal

About the Francis Gassner Award

The Francis Gassner Award was established in 1977 to commemorate an extraordinary architect, Francis P. Gassner, FAIA, who practiced in Memphis from 1950′s until his death in 1977. To continue his legacy of design excellence, of service to the profession, and of leadership to our community, AIA Memphis honors each year an architect or member of a related profession for outstanding contributions to the quality of the built environment in Memphis.


Candidates may be proposed by any member of AIA Memphis in good standing. Nominations should be in the form of a letter of recommendation (no more than two pages) to the Gassner Award Committee. No other material is required or will be considered, unless specifically requested by the Committee. The Award may or may not be given on an annual basis, at the discretion of the Committee. Please provide a statement naming your nominee, and his/her contributions to the quality of the built environment in Memphis. Achievement in the following categories should be considered but not limited to: Architectural Practice, Design, Education, Government, Industry, Historical Preservation, Literature, Public Service, Research, Science of Construction, Service to the Profession, Urban Design.

Entry Form

Download the 2015 Francis Gassner Award nomination package


DEADLINE EXTENDED! Wednesday, January 21 . 2015

Return your electronically completed or scanned form to or mail to:

AIA Memphis: Francis Gassner Award
511 South Main St.
Memphis, TN 38103

Presentation of Award

The 2015 Gassner Award recipient will be honored at the annual Celebration of Architecture Gala on March 28, 2015.

Previous Recipients

2014 – Todd Walker, FAIA
2013 – Keith Kays, AIA
2012 - Shirley C. Raines
2011 - Michael Hagge & Sherry Bryan
2010 - Joseph P. Hagan, AIA
2009 - Martin Gorman Jr, AIA
2008 - Jim Lutz, AIA
2007 - Joseph “Pitt” Hyde, III
2006 – Henry Frank Ricks, Jr., AIA
2003 – Robert Browne
2002 – Eugene E. Burr, AIA
2001 – Jack A. Belz
2000 – Robert J. Fleming, AIA
1999 – Kirk Bobo, FAIA
1998 – J. Granville Taylor, AIA
1997 – Mertie Buckman
1996 – Lee Askew, III, FAIA
1994 – Antonio Bologna, FAIA
1993 – Jack R. Tucker, Jr., FAIA
1992 – William Roberts Eissler
1991 – Gregory O. Hnedak, FAIA
1990 – William H. Gaskill, AIA
1988 – Dr. J. Richard Gruber
1987 – Morrie Moss
1986 – Henry M. Turley, Jr.
1985 – Francis Mah, AIA
1984 – Eleanor Hughes
1982 – Roy P. Harrover, FAIA
1981 – Thomas Nathan, FAIA
1980 – Edward (Ted) Rust
1979 – Clayton Dekle, FAIA
1978 – Zeno Yeates, FAIA
1977 – William P. Cox, FAIA